Recovery

I’ve always been told that it’s important to keep your body fit and healthy; that been physically well was everything. In fact, most things you see adverts for have one goal: keeping the body the way it should be, or the way you want it to be.

But what about the mind?

The mind is different to the body in many ways, but it’s also very similar. Like the body, you can train your mind to do different things, and to perform at its full potential. But can you really keep it healthy? I mean, really healthy? And what happens when you have an injury. Your mind isn’t a bone or a muscle: it doesn’t mend itself in time. Some of the scars we carry are invisible, and they’re normally the slowest to heal.

If you cannot ever be healthy again, then what’s the point in recovery?

This is a question I’ve asked myself a number of times in recent months, and even now I’m not sure I know the answer. When you suffer from mental health problems, every day can seem like a struggle to just keep the mind going. Keeping it healthy is never a priority when all of your energy is spent on just living day-to-day. And when you’re told that there is no cure, then why would you try to be well again?

Look around you.

My reason for recovery is around me. My friends. My family. The little moments with these people that mark my days. To them, it can seem as little as a conversation or a smile. To me, it can be the only thing that marks the difference from one day to the next.

We all have something that helps us in our recovery.

What’s yours?

“Not all wounds are visible. Walk gently in the lives of others.”

Leave a Reply

